Cancelling your account
To completely cancel your account:
- Delete all posts on your account
- Ensure your account has an email address associated with it
- Send us an email from the email address associated with your account, letting us know your username and that you'd like to cancel your account
Our friendly humans will respond and take care of that for you.
We know this is a bit of a pain. In the future, you'll be able to do this without emailing us.
Cancelling your subscription
You can cancel your paid Write.as subscription without any involvement from us. Simply go to the cancel subscription page, where you'll be asked to confirm that you want to cancel, and for a small explanation — it's optional, but feedback helps us improve the product.
What happens next
Your subscription will remain active until the end of your billing cycle. At that point, it simply won't renew, and most paid features will be deactivated (see below). If you very recently subscribed and would like a refund, please contact us and we'll work it out.
Once your account is cancelled — i.e. on our Free tier again — you'll lose most additional features you were previously paying for. However, since some paid features are closely tied to your blogs and we don't want to hold your work hostage, these features are semi-deactivated:
- Additional blogs on your account will only be visible to you. Your main blog (the one that shares your username) will still be accessible, unless it's on a custom domain, in which case:
- A main blog on a custom domain will no longer be accessible at that domain — you'll need to pick a different Preferred URL on its Customize page.
- Public blogs will no longer show up on Read Write.as — it will essentially be Unlisted again.
- Static pages (a Pro feature) will still work, but you won't be able to Pin new posts — only Unpin.
- Any Custom CSS (a Pro feature) will still display on your site, but you won't be able to modify it.
- If your main blog is Private (a Pro feature), it will remain that way. You'll only be able to change its Publicity setting back to Unlisted. Secondary blogs that are private will be invisible to the public like normal.
- If your main blog is Password-protected (a Pro feature), it will remain that way. You'll only be able to change its Publicity setting back to Unlisted. Secondary blogs that are password-protected will be invisible to the public like normal.
- Any blogs using a different Blog Format (a Pro feature) will keep that format. However, you'll only be able to change its Format back to Blog.
Resuming your subscription
You can resume your account at any time. If you recently cancelled and your paid billing cycle hasn't lapsed yet, you can resume your subscription here. You won't be charged then — your account will simply automatically renew when the billing period is over.
If your subscription already lapsed, you can pick a plan on your Subscription page to subscribe again. Any payment information you were using before will be used to pay for your new subscription. If you'd like to use another payment method, update your information on the Billing page first.